Best in Music 2008

pretenders_graphic_1_small

My favorites in music for last year.

10. Vampire Weekend
It’s tough to come screaming out of the gates with a “sound,” but Vampire Weekend’s first album (I guess, I assume it’s their first as it’s the first I’ve heard of them) was chock full of catchy tunes that have a unique sensibility while not sacrificing accessibility.

Best Track:
“Oxford Comma”; I suppose I give a fuck.

09. The Pretenders – Break Up the Concrete
Yes, those Pretenders. Chrissie Hynde and her pals have been cranking out music longer than I’ve been alive and just put out their best record since their 80s heyday; a nice hybrid of rock, country, blues, and punk that few bands could pull off.

Best Track: The hippy trippy punk pop of “Boots of Chinese Plastic.”

08. Beyonce – “Single Ladies”
Really, I can’t deny Beyonce any more. If there’s anyone better out there at crafting infectious pop hits, she’s probably already stolen their song. “Single Ladies” is the hookiest hit since, well, “Crazy in Love.” And don’t get me started on that video.

07. Tokyo Police Club – Elephant Shell
Indie Rock is still chugging along thanks in part to this Canadian garage rock band. Their tightly woven tunes are good old fashioned guitar slamming hits fronted by Dave Monks’ vibrantly flawed voice.

Best Track: Though I’m loathe to keep picking the singles, “Tesselate” really is the A-game.

06. R.E.M. – Accelerate
Another band I didn’t think I’d hear from again, at least as far as quality is concerned. After most of the millennium was spent churning out lackluster tracks, Stipe and company surprised with their latest studio effort, a rollicking clutch of songs that feel truer to the group’s indie roots while not alienating the epic band they became.

Best Track: Out of the gates, “Living Well is the Best Revenge” sets the tone for the record by highlighting the tight production, esoteric lyrics, and sing-along nature of R.E.M’s best tunes.

05. M.I.A. – “Paper Planes”
I found other songs on Kala to be kind of a mess, production-wise, and I was never a big fan of hers, but I couldn’t help but get sucked into the sensual onslaught that is “Paper Planes.” With its heavy posturing, the prolific incorporation of gunshots and cash registers, and M.I.A.’s unique brand of vocals, it’s not stupefying to see why this became an across-the-board smash.

04. Girl Talk – Feed the Animals
I’m really not a fan of sampling, nor am I one to appreciate large chunks of hip hop, so it’s a bit unexpected that one of my favorite albums of the year (and probably the one I’ve listened to more than any other) is made up entirely of samples, the majority of which are hip hop. I guess it’s all in the delivery. Sure, half the fun is naming that Radiohead riff or marveling at the joy that comes from combining “Footloose” and Fergie, but if listened straight through, the album has an amazing progression, even if I’m still not entirely clear where one song ends and another begins.

Best Track: “Here’s the Thing” which manages to make Kelly Clarkson’s “Since U Been Gone” even more of an urgent rocker.

03. Estelle feat. Kanye West – “American Boy”Okay, this one is due in large part to where I was this past year, which was for the most part outside of America. This became my theme song. It helps that it’s a smooth, frollicky, bouncy jam.

02. Nada Surf – Lucky
The first CD of the year never faltered beyond the top 3. Nada Surf’s urgent, maudlin, power driven CD is nothing short of astonishing. Every song is a winner from the sweet harmony of “See These Bones” to the mournful intensity of “Are You Lightning?”

Best Track: “The Film Did Not Go Round” a weepy, guitar plucking duet that plays like the closing credits to the greatest movie you’ve never seen.

01. MGMT – Oracular Spectacular
I don’t even know how to describe this. I just know that I love it. I was hesitant to jump on the bandwagon because I’m never as big a fan of Britpop evolutions as everybody else, but then I heard “Kids.” As someone who doesn’t even tap his toes without six beers in him, I couldn’t believe how much I wanted to just dance around. It’s nearly perfect in every way.

Best Track: “Time to Pretend.” Really the whole psychedelic anthem is nonstop joy, but the opening lines just set the stage so wonderfully:

I’m feeling rough, I’m feeling raw, I’m in the prime of my life.
Let’s make some music, make some money, find some models for wives.
I’ll move to Paris, shoot some heroin, and fuck with the stars.
You man the island and the cocaine and the elegant cars.

This is our decision, to live fast and die young.
We’ve got the vision, now let’s have some fun.

Leave a comment